Celine

My lady engineer buddy, Monica, suggested to watch these movies: Before Sunrise (1995) and Before Sunset (2004). These movies are very, very simple, just consist of dialogues! No action whatsoever but they’re beautiful… so beautiful that I feel like wanting to quote all the lines. Monce has already written a comprehensive review here. 😀

Anyway, I fell in love with Celine, the female character of both movies. I don’t know, she somehow resembles the kind of woman that I’d like to be. Twice she said that she was “a strong, independent woman”. At the same time, tho, she’s so feminine, innocent, a big dreamer, kinda chatty but a good listener nevertheless… it’s like a healthy mix of fragile-but-strong, haha. If I were a man I’d definitely want to date her! And she’s very pretty like a Boticelli angel FTW!

Here are some of my favorite quotes from Celine in Before Sunrise:

  • I kind of see this all love as this, escape for two people who don’t know how to be alone. People always talk about how love is this totally unselfish, giving thing, but if you think about it, there’s nothing more selfish. (in Before Sunrise)

  • I always feel this pressure of being a strong and independent icon of womanhood, and without making it look my whole life is revolving around some guy. But loving someone, and being loved means so much to me. We always make fun of it and stuff. But isn’t everything we do in life a way to be loved a little more?  (in Before Sunrise)

In Before Sunset:

  • You know, couples are so confused lately. I think it must be that men need to feel essential and they don’t anymore. It’s been imprinted in their head for so many years that they had to be the provider.

  • I was thinking, for me it’s better I don’t romanticize things as much anymore. I was suffering so much all the time. I still have lots of dreams, but they’re not in regard to my love life. It doesn’t make me sad, it’s just the way it is.

  • Even being alone, it’s better than sitting next to a lover and feeling lonely.

This is her best line that really touched me and made me screamed, “Yes! Yes that’s right!!”

Capture6 Capture7 Capture8

Lastly,

Capture94 Capture95 Capture96

  • You know what? Reality and love are almost contradictory for me. It made me feel cold, like love wasn’t for me. Never. But what does it mean, the right man, the love of your life? The concept is absurd, that we can only be complete with another person. It’s EVIL, right? I guess I’ve been heartbroken too many times and then I recovered. So now, you know, from the starts, I make no effort. I know it’s not gonna work out.

Which one’s better, Before Sunrise or Before Sunset? Well I don’t really have the answer. Before Sunrise was filmed when they were in their 20s, Before Sunset in their 30s. In terms of relevance, dynamics of the characters, and reflections upon life, I liked Before Sunrise more. The depth and young innocence’s there. But in terms of love, I like Before Sunset more because being in their 30s, they start seeing love more realistically.

Either way, these two movies are highly recommended. I’ll update the quotes after re-watching the movies. 😀

Author: mfaradina

An Indonesian. A reliable realist outside yet a romantic dreamer at heart.

4 thoughts on “Celine”

Leave a Reply

